The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES



Chuck Hoskin Jr. Principal Chief



Bill Anoatubby Governor



Gary Batton Chief



James R. Floyd Principal Chief



Greg P. Chilcoat Chief

A Resolution Urging Congress to Reauthorize the Native American Housing Assistance and Self-Determination Act (NAHASDA)

Resolution No. 19-25

- WHEREAS, the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes ("ITC") is an organization that unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing more than 750,000 Indian people throughout the United States; and
- WHEREAS, the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations are Indian tribes whose inherent sovereignty preexists that of the United States and who have held a historic and continual government-to-government relationship with the United States; and
- WHEREAS, the Native American Housing Assistance and Self-Determination Act (NAHASDA), a bill that allows tribes to provide tribal citizens with critical housing services, was originally passed in 1996 and is up for reauthorization in this session of Congress; and
- WHEREAS, NAHASDA expired in 2013 and has not been reauthorized; and
- WHEREAS, NAHASDA has demonstrated that when tribal governments are able to exercise their sovereign self-determination on how to best utilize their federal funding, those dollars are employed more effectively and can be tailored to specific, local needs; and
- WHEREAS, allowing this critical program to remain unauthorized creates uncertainty and insecurity that is troublesome for all of Indian Country; and
- WHEREAS, in the reauthorization of NAHASDA, no restrictions should he placed on how tribal governments utilize the funds, and any changes to NAHASDA, including changes to the funding formula, should only be changed through government-to-government negotiations with the tribes; and
- WHEREAS, in the reauthorization of NAHASDA, no federally recognized tribe should be explicitly mentioned or subject to additional restrictions for funding eligibility.

NOW THEREFORE LET IT BE RESOLVED THAT, the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes hereby urges Congress to reauthorize NAHASDA and uphold its commitment to government-to-government negotiations as changes to NAHASDA are considered.

The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

CERTIFICATION

| The foregoing resolution was adopted by Civilized Tribes meeting in Durant, Oklaho | oma on this 11th day of October, 2019, |
|---|--|
| by a vote of for against and | abstentions. |
| Bill Anoatubby Bill Anoatubby, Governor The Chickasaw Nation Gary Batton Chief | James R. Floyd, Principal Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation Greg P. Chilcoat, Principal Chief |
| Choctay Nation of Oklahoma | Seminole Nation of Oklahoma |
| Chuck Hoskin, Jr., Principal Chief | |